Translation of Blame


When you blame someone for an act, what you are doing is blaming them for having the genetics and conditioning which led to the desire for that act.

So you are basically blaming the person for their parents having sex and every single moment after.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

9 thoughts on “Translation of Blame”

  1. Er… not sure how to take this one. Are you saying that people have no personal responsibility for their own actions nor the ability to change?

    Why don’t you eat cheese?

  2. People have the ability to change but not personal responsibility. They are separate things.

    And I don’t eat cheese because all of it was produced by the cows whenever they give birth to a calf. Humans kill or sell the calves and then take the milk from the mother. The cows are continually made pregnant and calves taken away just so that humans can drink milk from a cow that they don’t need anyway. Few would do this to humans but have no problem doing it to cattle because tradition. There is much more to it than that. I recommend the movies Cowspiracy for the environmental effects and Earthlings to see how all sorts of animals are really being hurt. Or books by Magnus Vinding such as “Why We Should Go Vegan”.

    1. “People have the ability to change but not personal responsibility. They are separate things.”

      How can this be?

      “And I don’t eat cheese because all of it was produced by the cows whenever they give birth to a calf… ”

      What you’ve just done is given me a record of your reasoning, not the reason. If all this had no emotional component, no empathy for the animals, would you even care to make the argument?

      1. If I had no empathy for the animals, then basically the reasoning would never happen. That’s what I’m talking about. I changed because I had empathy and was hit with new information. However this does not mean I was responsible in any way for having empathy.

        Nor are those who don’t have empathy.

  3. Ok, I just (a minute ago) made the same argument that you did above in the comments of the thoughts and actions post. I think I get it now: we’re not responsible for our nature, which we’re born with as a product of DNA, similar to our eye color. Is that accurate? If so, to some degree I agree.

    How do we know what’s nature and what’s nurture then? Can some people be predisposed to violence and anger by virtue of nature? What about a dog that’s been driven mean?

    1. I think that genetics may play a small role in the degree of patience and empathy a person naturally has. Some are less prone to violence than others. However, even they would probably be led to violence if it was taught as something right. Consider the violence that religions often promote. I don’t think nature alone is enough to cause violent behavior. There has to be something they experience in life that makes them desire to hurt someone else.

  4. Oh wait, I just re-read the original post. ‘The genetics and conditioning’, nature and nurture, together. Hmmm, my argument in the other comments section seems extremely verbose by comparison now. 🙂

    “People have the ability to change but not personal responsibility. They are separate things.”

    Wow, I get what you’re saying there, too. You’re at a much more advanced level than I was giving you credit for, sorry about that.

    So, moving forward to the level of your argument — if we have no personal responsibility, then the whole justice system is an injustice? I mean, how can we hold people accountable? If someone robs a bank, it’s not their fault? Moreover, how can we accomplish anything without responsibility? I mean sure, we could get lucky and stay on track, but is there anything beyond that?

    1. Yes, I would have to say that for the most part, the justice system is an injustice. However, we can reconsider what would be practical even and best for society even without responsibility. People have been accomplishing things throughout history without being truly responsible. I have no doubt that it’s possible to keep doing so while understanding that basically it was all luck. All that it really eliminates is the”bragging rights”.

Leave a Reply

