Jesus Camp Review


My mom and I watched the documentary “Jesus Camp”. We talked a lot about the messages that these children are being taught. The basic message is that children are taught that God can do anything and is in control but somehow it’s the responsibility of these children to fix the world. My mom and I both see the conflict in this.

Looking at it now, I see that it was partially this type of message growing up that made me think that somehow it was my job to fix the world. As much as it would be nice, it’s not something I can do.
It is true that what children are taught when very young often sticks with them for the rest of their lives. This however can be used for either good or bad.

Children can be taught to copy anything no matter how ridiculous it is. This is the whole point. We cannot hold them responsible for what they do when young or old.

There is no freedom of choice in this. We are shaped by our environment and each experience affects what we choose. It all makes sense even more now that I understand determinism.

I feel sorry for these kids when I see them crying because they are taught they are such evil sinners. I know it all too well.

The worst part is, there is nothing children can do to get out of such a system until they are adults. By then it is usually too late. They infect their children with the same virus of the mind.

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

