Why good is relevant


Is it a good idea for people to call something good? Can any good come from using a word that lacks a good definition? I have failed to understand a culture where people listen to good music, eat good food, watch a good movie, read a good book or play a good game?

I don’t feel very good about using the word good. I will admit that I still fall into the habit of using the word good when I like something. Sometimes I find something that is just so good that I can’t think of another word to describe it.

I consider honesty to be good. This is part of what confuses me about the meaning of good. A good liar is someone who lies to hide the fact that they are up to no good. I think it is good to tell the truth, but sometimes the truth does no good for someone who can’t use it.

Good can apply equally to relevance and irrelevance. It can be good to know what is relevant to me, but it can also be good to know that what I consider relevant may be irrelevant to someone else.

Still, I would have to say that good is relevant because there are so many things that can be described as good. Do you think I did a good job explaining why I think it is sometimes bad to use the word “good”?

Author: chandlerklebs

I have unusual thoughts on almost every subject. I am as Pro-Life as I can possibly be. I am strongly opposed to violence of any type. That includes rape, war, and (obviously) abortion. Everything I think, speak, and write must be filtered by the effect it could have on the lives of others. If I am in any way promoting violence accidentally, please let me know.

One thought on “Why good is relevant”

  1. Thanks for liking one of my blogs. There are about 600 more to chose from and I am sure that you will find something which interests you if you say you are interested in writing about almost everything. Enjoy! Best wishes. Uldis

Leave a comment